The sea

I don’t see the sea often. I live very far from the Romanian shore, actually the only time I have been there was in 1985, when I was 7. I still remember the aw of seeing for the first time the immensity of the water that wasn’t similar to anything else seen before. I have visited other seas since then, on different continents, in different seasons and in different states of mind, but being next to the sea never looses that initial feeling of wonder.

I collect old postcards from the Romanian seashore. I found them quite often at the flea market. These ones are from the fifties.

IMG_0001

IMG_0005

IMG_0004

IMG_0003

IMG_0002

IMG_0006

IMG_0007

IMG_0009

I have bought these ones in 1985, when I had a vacation on the Romanian seashore. My mother wrote the date in pencil on the back of the postcards.

IMG_0008 IMG_0011 IMG_0010

IMG_0012

These napkins that I guess are from the eighties were used in seashore restaurants. I have found them in a big pile of different paper napkins (someone’s collection) at the flea market. I hope to find more of these at some point.

IMG_0014

IMG_0013

IMG_0017

IMG_0016

IMG_0015

These souvenir bracelets were bought by my grandmother in a Romanian seashore resort in 1959. They are hand painted on shell pieces. I remember watching the small images as a child. I like so much their naive and nostalgic feeling. Maybe I’ll restring them and make them into something new (a summer necklace?).

DSCN9457

DSCN9438

DSCN9440

DSCN9442

DSCN9449

DSCN9452

DSCN9453

Linking up with Vintage Bliss Tuesday party.
9 thoughts on “The sea

  1. What a beautiful collection! The shell bracelets are particularly striking. I too love the seaside, I find that I’m always happier in cities by the sea. Unfortunately, I’ve never seen either of the Canadian coasts, so I understand your feelings of longing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. We spent several weeks a year at the beach growing up. I love the beach at any time of the year. The postcards preserve history in small photographs. The souvenir bracelets are wonderful.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I went to the netherlandish beach nearly every summer in my childhood, but still the sea fascinates me and I really miss it, living in the mountains now.
    The bracelets are very special, the painting is beautiful, but they look so fragile.

    Like

Leave a Reply

