Snuff boxes

I have already posted at some point the smaller and older snuff box, but yesterday I have found another one at a vintage boutique. It’s not so pretty like the older one (that also has a celluloid sheet inside), but I like this one because an year (1941) and a place (Lagan) is scribbled on it. I’m not sure what’s the meaning of the inscription (I have searched it in Swedish and “Frans ny” would supposedly mean “the new fringe” that doesn’t make much sense to me), but who knows… maybe the translation is not right. Or, it could have some relation to the war? Or, it could just  be a private joke of the person who had this snuff box 74 years ago?

DSCN9447

DSCN9450

DSCN9451

 

DSCN9456

DSCN9459

Leave a Reply

