Plein air

DSCN0497.JPG

I have found this box yesterday at the flea market, for quite cheap. It’s a small size case, with some of the original tools still inside: a metal bottle for turpentine, a dipper and a metal charcoal holder. The palette is not there, unfortunately. There are also some pastel sticks and 2 old brushes with bamboo handles marked Japan. Also some newer pencils. Obviously, this box was used in a really long time span or had different owners using it.  It was made by Sennelier Paris, an old and famous art store. Their logo is different now and I couldn’t find any listing of their previous logos, so I could have a definite answer regarding the age of my box. But, I think the box and the original accessories are from the thirties or forties, from the feel of them.

I don’t plan painting en plein air again (something that I was very fond of when I was 15), but it’s a very nice box to store some of my drawing and painting supplies in, while trying to imagine who were the ones using it before me.

DSCN0496DSCN0526DSCN0502DSCN0504DSCN0506DSCN0512DSCN0523DSCN0519DSCN0516DSCN0515

Linking up with Vintage Bliss Tuesdays.

4 thoughts on “Plein air

  1. that’s a very stylish case! love the brass handle. it’s so true that quality is worth investing in – I wonder how many enjoyed using it before you…i wish objects could talk!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

