Vegan creamy rice

DSCN9522.JPG

I woke up today with the thought that I really want to cook something interesting and experimental. So, I cooked a green beans soup that I seasoned with a few cubes of watermelon and a rice with pickled cabbage and cashew nuts. I have seen this mix somewhere online, but I couldn’t remember where to check the recipe. So, I have improvised my own version.

These are the ingredients: 4 smaller onions diced, 4  green and red bell peppers diced, 1 mug of rice, some shredded pickled cabbage, one cup of cashew nuts, 2 spoon of capers, 3-4 spoons of sesame seeds, a few pieces from a diced tomato, lemon zest, salt. As usual, the quantities are really just a guess :), as I mostly improvise when I cook.

I stir fried the onions, peppers and rice with cooking oil and a bit of salt (the salt will add up from the capers and the pickled cabbage, too). After stir frying for a few minutes, I added water for the rice to cook. When the rice was half cooked, I added the pickled cabbage, the capers and the cashew nuts. When the rice was almost cooked and the water evaporated, I added the tomato.

While the rice was cooking, I blended the sesame seeds with a bit of salt and some lemon zest, same as for a tahini sauce, but without the garlic. After the rice was cooked and I turned of the stove, I mixed in the hot rice the sesame sauce. We ate it topped with some more shredded pickled cabbage, some more cashew nuts, tomatoes and black caraway seeds.

It is very comforting and creamy and delicious! And really nutritious too.

DSCN9514DSCN9515

 

 

4 thoughts on “Vegan creamy rice

Leave a Reply

